My 30 Day Face Book Experiment

The following is my personal experience,  not a condemnation of FB or its users.

 

I’m sure Facebook has its merits.  I’ve read that FB has been responsible for reuniting lost loves, reconnecting estranged relatives I even heard a story about some twins who, separated at birth, found each other through a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend etc. . .  But for me personally FB held no promise of something so grandiose.  I’m with the love of my life, I’m in constant contact with all the family I can handle, and I don’t have a lost twin  (that I know of).

I joined Facebook 6 years ago with the hope of being able to share pictures of my family with my family and close friends.

Other then cheapening my relationships and inspiring knee-jerk reactions to the latest and greatest break through I can’t say I have much to show for it.

Top 10 Reasons Why My Facebook Account is Deactivated (in no particular order):

1.  I hate how it all links back to FB.  Pinterest, this Blog, when the boys use Khan Academy.  Not that I’m doing anything subversive or deviant, it’s just who cares and why do I have to share so much?!

2.  Many of my current friends don’t have FB accounts.  The friends I did have on FB are comprised of family who deserve more than a ‘like’ status to let them know I love them or that I’m thinking of them; and a smattering of friends who are dear and near to me who if/when we see each other again could pick up the conversation right where we left off.  It was these quality relationships that I felt were being cheapened by FB.  A quick ‘like’ kept us on the same page and let me know they were all right without having to make the time to call, write or visit.

3.  I keep a laptop in my kitchen.  While waiting for bread to toast, rice to boil, or anything else monotonous  Facebook made my kitchen exile more tolerable.  But what I started noticing was that 5 min here, 10 min there throughout the day adds up.  For somebody who never has enough time for anything, wasting those minutes on ‘catching up’ kept me feeling more frazzled then productive.  Rice always boiled over and toast always burnt.

4.  I didn’t like explaining my Facebook Rules of conduct to “friend” requests I’d choose to ignore.  I don’t like to be mean, but I don’t think ‘friending’ somebody who is a friend of a friend or is the spouse of your friend makes them your friend.

5.  As intimate as I kept my Facebook, somebody somewhere was watching what I was watching. Videos were taken down, some things I posted never made it up.  All this made me more nervous in posting pictures of my family which was the primary reason for my getting involved with FB in the first place.

6.  I was secretly jealous of my friends who did not have Facebook accounts.

7.  Too much chatter.  Too much static.  Too much white noise.  All of it kept me living on the surface.

8.  It was just something else to do.

9.  While my life was happening all around me I was losing time glued to the computer screen, lost in some Facebook wormhole.

10.  I recently re-read Aldous Huxley’s “Brave New World” . . . if I’m going to be somebody’s social experiment I may as well be my own.  30 days of no FB.  If after the 30 days, I survive to tell the tale, I’ll permanently delete it.  I can’t imagine it’ll be so hard, though it’s only been 24 hours.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll be writing the praises of Facebook and why I will eternally be devoted to it.  I don’t know yet.  The experiment has just begun.

 

Leave a Reply

