Bedtime Reading

I’m a regular reader.  I aspire to be a voracious reader, but this season of my life limits me to 1-2 books at a time.  Right now, my night stand holds a precariously balanced load that threatens to topple over every time I reach for my current reads.  It’s time to do some shelving, but I feel sad whenever I have to do this. I’m afraid I’ll forget them, worse yet lose them.    We’ve had some good times. They’ve shared their wisdom, fed my heart and saw me through some pretty tough times (I’m a 1st trimester wimp).  Better friends I couldn’t ask for.    Right now, this is what my bedside bookshelf looks like:  At the bottom I have the Complete Short Stories of Guy DeMaupassant.  I like to read these stories intermittently.  I like his style of writing, I like how he can express some pretty profound ideas very simply.  Sometimes the Natives will ask me to read one of Guy’s stories and I’ll be all too happy to do so.  Following is The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm – this is more of the Natives. They pick random stories out of this for their bedtime reading.  This book is full of weird, creepy,  sometimes scary stories but they enjoy it.  After that is  Thomas Jefferson Education Home Companion followed by  Thomas Jefferson Education.  I loved these books!   The next one is Echo in Celebration – this was an easy read.  It’s a great reminder as to why we classically educate and what it looks like in other’s homeschools.   Recovering the Lost Tools in Learning is next- I just picked this one up at the book fair and I can’t wait to dig in!  So much of it already resounds with my own philosophy for learning.   Climbing Parnassus, another one that I just picked up that I’m dying to get into.  I’ve read the intro and chapter 1 and it’s one of those books that I’ll have to be devoted to.  I won’t read another book while I read these.  They are rich and meaty.  I’m expecting that by the end of these books, I’ll be prioritizing Latin not just for the boys but for myself as well.    Seven, book number 9 from the bottom, has challenged me to do my own social experiment with the Natives.

7 (Seven): an experimental mutiny against excess.  Ok, the title intrigued me, but the dedication sold me:  “For Jesus, who lived so lightly on this earth, He didn’t even have a place to lay His head.  I want so deeply to be like You”.  Oh my!  Who is this author?

I think I live a rather uncomplicated, simple, excess and stress-free life. I think I thought that she would validate my value system.  I didn’t think I’d be challenged in any way and then I read the intro :

” I’m embarking on a journey of less.  It’s time to purge the junk and pare down to what is necessary, what is noble.  7 will be an exercise in simplicity with one goal:  to create space for God’s kingdom to break through.   I approach this project in the spirit of a fast:  an intentional reduction, a deliberate abstinence to summon God’s movement in my life.  A fast creates margin for God to move.  Temporarily changing our routine of comfort jars us off high center.  A fast is not necessarily something we offer God, but it assists us in offering ourselves.  It is exchanging the needs of the physical body for those of the spirit. ”

Who doesn’t need more of God?

Jen Hatmaker is the author and I’m dying to take her challenge on.  I’d like to start with the food fast and do 3 day challenges with the Natives.  We’d ‘visit’ different countries over the course of a month and eat only what the impoverished of that country would eat.  The Natives are scared.  They tell me they can’t go to other countries since they haven’t experienced living fully in America as I refuse to buy them any processed foods – their version of American cuisine.  Still, it’s on my radar and once I’m unpregnant and not nursing – we’re off to India, Africa, South Korea!!  The world’s our oyster and what fun it’ll be!

Following is Brenda Ueland’s If You Want to Write.  I liked her sentiment behind this work.  The Book of Virtues is on top of that.  This is also available for the Natives bedtime picks.  The Harbinger was a library pick-up recommended by a friend.  This one blew my mind.  I was not ready for the truth that would be revealed in this one.  I spent a week checking the footnotes to verify its validity.  I was reading Orson Wells War of the Worlds (the book shown above the Harbinger) when the 2012 Presidential elections were happening.  It was the Harbinger that made it all make sense.  Biblically based, I STRONGLY recommend this one to anyone seeking to find and understand the truth in today’s topsy-turvy world.

I’m off to shelve my friends so that new ones can take their place.  I have Gretchen Rubin’s  latest Happier at Home on hold for me at the library, Seven Sacred Pauses just came in from Amazon and a friend of mine just returned Sam Nadler’s Messianic Wisdom: Practical Scriptural Answers for Your Life in Messiah.  Good times await!  What’s on your bookshelf this season?

Leave a Reply

