This Christian Perspective to Minimalistic Thinking

Cowboy laughed at yesterday’s post.  He thinks I’m a far cry from a ‘minimalist’ as one might typically think one to be.  His assessment of me is that I’m an intellectual minimalist and a collector at heart . . . I considered that and after realizing that no, he was not trying to insult me, ultimately – he’s right.   Cowboy knows me all too well.

Regardless, on that train of thought, I do still consider myself a minimalist.  I don’t try to complicate things, I don’t like complicated things, and I love the simple profound truths in G-d’s Holy Scriptures that I seek to navigate through the complications of life.

So here they are, in no particular order – and these make PERFECT sense!

My  Minimalist Manifesto

  The earth is the Lord’s and all it contains. [Psalm 24:1]

But seek ye first the kingdom of G-d, and his righteousness, and all these things (food and clothing) shall me added unto you  [Matthew 6:33]

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret f being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength. [Philippians 4:11-13]

No one . . . can be My disciple who does not give up all his own possessions [Luke 14:33]

We also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulations brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character. [Romans 5:3-4]

For those whom the Lord loves He disciplines . . . He disciplines us for our good that we may share His holiness.  All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness [Hebrews 12:6, 10-11]

And if we have food and covering, with these we shall be content  [1 Timothy 6:8]

The Lord  loathes all cheating and dishonesty. [Proverbs 20:23]

Wealth obtained by fraud dwindles. [Proverbs 13:11]

It is more blessed to give then to receive. [Acts 20:35]

Do not be deceived: G-d cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. [Galatians 6:7]

To the person who pleases him, G-d gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but to the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases G-d. This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind. [Ecclesiastes 2:25-26]

So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed [John 8:36]

I love the structure my Minimalist Manifesto* gives my life and the freedoms it affords me.  It’s like my own personal universal GPS to help me navigate through the uncertainties of this world.  I don’t have to complicate my life with the typical stressors or worries.  My life is His and He’s in control.      That frees me up to enjoy the wonders and works of His Creation – Natives included!

* Minimalist Manifesto = Holy Bible

2 thoughts on “This Christian Perspective to Minimalistic Thinking

  1. Oh I liked that. Will have to print & frame that. And I agree with cowboy. I think a minimalist in relationships, but certainly not in other stuff (ie heads in kitchen, climbers on wall)…no judgement! I just brought home rocks & sticks and put in a jar…may waisabi art!!

Leave a Reply

