I’m a Minimalist . . .

at heart.

I  like to spend the minimal on everything I purchase and find no shame in negotiating with anyone for anything.

I avoid retail at all costs.  Even then if I have to buy retail,  I’ll shop sales and still try to negotiate a lower price based on a competitor’s sale.

I love to live in our modern-minimalist 1781 sq.f t home (small by today’s standards!). It helps me live a considered life based on the essentials with little space for the latest fad or trend.  I’m able to fully surround myself with things that I find useful and/or beautiful without having to pay extra on utilities, taxes and maintenance fees, not to mention the minimal amount of time we have to spend on taking care of it all.

I believe that the best memories are those you make, not the ones you pay for.

That’s why when I came across the Everyday Minimalist it made sense, but not perfect sense (that’s tomorrow’s post) Part 2 to

A Minimalist’s Train of Thought

Less money spent means more money saved

More money saved means the longer you can live in financial peace and security

Financial peace and security comes from owning less

Less stuff owned means less to carry around, move or have to travel with

Less responsibility for your stuff also means less maintenance and more time

The more time you have, the more relaxed you will feel

The more relaxed you are, the less you will care about stuff

If you care less about stuff, it means you’ll care less about image

If you care less about image, you will care more about experiences and memories

If you care more about experiences and memories, you will be happier with less

If you are happier with less, you’ll never want or need for more

The less you want or need for more, the more you will feel free

The Everyday Minimalist

Leave a Reply

