Credit Card Free!

We’ve been in a 2 year death match with the banks and their credit cards.  The last 6 months were the most aggressive part of our self-imposed debt repayment plan.  Today was the day our final payment was made –  NO MORE CREDIT CARDS!!  But, I don’t feel like celebrating.  I’m feeling more like this

I hope we’ve learned our lesson.  I’m terrified of our impulsiveness, and fear of discomfort.  I don’t want to be in debt again,  the digging out process is too painful!  We need to be our own credit card for those unforeseen circumstances and forbid ourselves from falling victim to those wily, conniving, thieving, banks and their credit cards.  There is nothing I want that makes me want to enter into another agreement with them.  You never win.

Right now, in honor to God, and in our desperate need to grow in His wisdom so that we don’t get entangled in another ungodly alliance we will be learning

 Psalm 23:1-6

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters.

He restores my soul.  He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they  comfort me. 

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.  You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 

Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Just typing that out has eased my anxiety.

Everything in this Psalm is what I want and you can’t get that with a credit card.

He is my EVERYTHING and I praise Him for never leaving us even when we chose this tango (with the DEVIL!).  He’s always been with us and now at the end of this course, our  hearts are more resolute on pursuing Him and not on the things of this world.

2 thoughts on “Credit Card Free!

  1. Congratulations! I am proud of you all! Everything you are blessed with now belongs to only you and God, and no business or bank has their hands in the pot.

Leave a Reply

